Exam calendar
Current Affairs(opens currentaffairsdesk.com in a new tab)HomeFeaturesBlogsPricingAbout usFAQContact usSign inGet the app
Home/ Exams/ Banking/ IBPS Clerk
PRELIMS 10–11 OCT · MAINS 27 DEC · 11,663 VACANCIES

IBPS Clerk 2026

Dates, state-wise vacancies, exam pattern, syllabus, pay and eligibility for IBPS Clerk 2026 (CRP CSA-XVI), taken from the official IBPS notification, corrigenda and calendar.

Prelims10–11 Oct 2026
Vacancies11,663 (indicative)
LevelGraduate
Conducted byIBPS
▶4.7Play Store
A4.5App Store
1,00,000+ aspirants prepping daily
Latest updates

What’s new in IBPS Clerk 2026

  • 01 AUGIBPS Clerk 2026 (CRP CSA-XVI) notification released for Customer Service Associate posts in 11 public sector banks.
  • 21 AUGOnline registration extended from 21 Aug to 28 August 2026 by corrigendum.
  • 29 SEPIndicative vacancies updated to 11,663 (from 11,403) by corrigendum.
  • 10–11 OCTOnline preliminary exam as per the IBPS 2026-27 calendar.
  • 27 DECOnline main exam as per the IBPS calendar; prelims result due in November 2026 (tentative).
Exam overview

IBPS Clerk 2026 at a glance

IBPS Clerk (now called Customer Service Associate, CSA) recruits graduates for clerical posts in 11 public sector banks, state/UT-wise, through an online prelims and mains — there is no interview.

Conducting body
Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS)
Post
Customer Service Associate (clerical cadre)
Banks
Bank of Baroda, Bank of India, Bank of Maharashtra, Canara Bank, Central Bank of India, Indian Bank, Indian Overseas Bank, Punjab National Bank, Punjab & Sind Bank, UCO Bank, Union Bank of India
Vacancies
11,663 (indicative, updated 29 Sep 2026)
Application window
1 – 28 Aug 2026 (extended)
Prelims
10 – 11 Oct 2026 (calendar)
Mains
27 Dec 2026 (calendar)
Eligibility
Graduate, age 20–28 (as on 1 Aug 2026), local language of the state applied for
Starting basic pay
₹24,050 (scale up to ₹64,480)
Official website
ibps.in
Important dates

The 2026 recruitment timeline

01 AUG 2026
Notification & registration open
28 AUG 2026
Registration & fee payment close
Extended from 21 Aug by corrigendum
29 SEP 2026
Updated vacancies (11,663)
Corrigendum
10–11 OCT 2026
Online preliminary exam
As per IBPS calendar 2026-27
27 DEC 2026
Online main exam
As per IBPS calendar 2026-27
MAR 2027
Provisional allotment to banks
Tentative
Full exam calendar
Vacancies

11,663 posts on the table

Indicative vacancies for 2027-28 across all states/UTs: UR 4,878 · OBC 2,863 · SC 1,936 · EWS 1,024 · ST 962. You apply for one state/UT only; allotment depends on the actual vacancies banks report.

11,663
2026 = CRP CSA-XVI (updated 29.09.2026; Union Bank of India not reported); 2025 = CRP CSA-XV (updated 14.11.2025). Totals summed from the official state-wise tables.
Vacancy trend
15,701
'25
11,663
'26
Ad
JobSafal Pro

Crack IBPS Clerk with your own daily plan

Daily targets, 10+ yrs solved PYQs & unlimited mocks — to the latest pattern.

7-day trial ₹1 then ₹299/month · cancel anytime
Start ₹1 trial →
Exam pattern

How the exam is scored

Prelims screens candidates; only the Main exam counts for the final merit list. There is no interview.

SectionQuestionsMarks
English Language3030
Numerical Ability3535
Reasoning Ability3535
Total100100
Duration 60 min (20 min per test)Negative marking −¼ of the question's marksSectional cut-off Yes
SectionQuestionsMarks
General / Financial Awareness4050
General English4040
Reasoning Ability4060
Quantitative Aptitude4050
Total160200
Duration 125 min (separately timed)Merit Mains only (converted out of 100)Language test Qualifying, before joining
Syllabus

What you’ll be tested on

Tests as named in the official exam structure. IBPS does not publish a topic-wise syllabus; the information handout describes English as grammar, vocabulary, sentence completion, synonyms, antonyms and comprehension.

English Language (prelims: 30 Q, 20 min)General English (mains: 40 Q, 35 min)Grammar, vocabulary, comprehension
Numerical Ability (prelims: 35 Q, 20 min)Quantitative Aptitude (mains: 40 Q, 35 min)
Reasoning Ability (prelims: 35 Q, 20 min)Reasoning Ability (mains: 40 Q, 35 min)
General awarenessFinancial awareness (mains: 40 Q, 20 min)
Salary & posts

What you actually take home

Pay scale for Customer Service Associate as given in the notification, plus allowances and perquisites as per bank rules.

CSA₹24,050+
₹24,050 – ₹64,480 (basic)
Customer Service Associate in the 11 participating banks
Eligibility

Can you apply?

Qualification
Graduation in any discipline, result declared on or before 21 Aug 2026; computer literacy mandatory
Age limit
20 – 28 years (born 2 Aug 1998 – 1 Aug 2006)
Age reference date
1 August 2026
Relaxation
SC/ST +5 · OBC (NCL) +3 · PwBD +10 · ESM: service + 3 yrs (max 50) · widows/divorced women up to 35/38/40
Local language
Must be proficient in an official language of the state/UT applied for (LLPT unless studied it in Class 10 or above)
Nationality
Indian citizen, or subject of Nepal/Bhutan, Tibetan refugee or eligible person of Indian origin (with eligibility certificate)
Application fee
₹850 (general) · ₹175 for SC/ST/PwBD/ESM/DESM (incl. GST)
Cut-off

Cut-off

Cut-off
Content to be added for this exam.
Know where you stand

See if you’re above the Clerk cut-off — before the exam

Unlimited mock tests with rank comparison and AI analysis of your weak topics, so the cut-off stops being a guess.

Take a mock test 50,000+ mock tests taken monthly
Six tools · one app

How JobSafal helps you crack IBPS Clerk

The general prep everyone has, tuned specifically to the Clerk pattern and cut-offs.

🎯

Clerk daily targets

The Tier 1 & 2 syllabus split into 30-minute targets, sequenced by weightage.

📄

10+ years of PYQs

Every past Clerk paper, solved, tagged by topic and difficulty.

⏱️

Unlimited mocks

Full & sectional mocks in the real CBT interface, with rank comparison.

🤖

AI weak-area analysis

After each mock, see exactly which topics are costing you marks.

FAQ

IBPS Clerk questions, answered

As per the IBPS 2026-27 calendar, the online preliminary exam is on 10–11 October 2026 and the main exam on 27 December 2026. The prelims result is due in November 2026 (tentative).
11,663 indicative vacancies for 2027-28 as updated on 29 Sep 2026 (UR 4,878, OBC 2,863, SC 1,936, EWS 1,024, ST 962). Union Bank of India has not reported its numbers yet.
20 to 28 years as on 1 August 2026 (born between 2 August 1998 and 1 August 2006). SC/ST get 5 years of relaxation, OBC (non-creamy layer) 3 years and PwBD 10 years.
No. Final merit is based only on the Main exam marks (converted out of 100). Candidates must also pass the local language proficiency test before joining, unless they studied that language in Class 10 or above.
Yes. One-fourth (0.25) of the marks assigned to a question is deducted for each wrong answer, in both prelims and mains. Unanswered questions carry no penalty.
No. Clerical recruitment is state/UT-wise, so you can apply for the vacancies of only one state/UT.
The basic pay scale is ₹24,050–₹64,480, plus allowances and perquisites as per the rules of the bank you join.

Start today,
with a plan.

Download JobSafal — 7 days for ₹1. Your first IBPS Clerk mock test and today’s daily target are waiting.

Download the app ↓
QR code — scan to get the JobSafal app
Scan to downloadAndroid app on Google Play
Get JobSafal — 7 days for ₹1Your Clerk plan is waiting
Download →