Exam calendar
Current Affairs(opens currentaffairsdesk.com in a new tab)HomeFeaturesBlogsPricingAbout usFAQContact usSign inGet the app
Home/ Exams/ Banking/ IBPS SO/ Vacancy
IBPS SO 2026 · 1,043 POSTS

IBPS SO Vacancy 2026 · post, bank & category-wise

How many Specialist Officer (Scale I) posts are on offer in CRP SPL-XVI, how they split across the six posts, the reservation categories and the 11 participating banks, and how the count has changed since the notification.

Year-wise trend ↓ Post & category split 📋 Indicative vacancies for 2027-28, updated 27 Aug 2026 — allotment follows the actual vacancies banks report.
Overview

IBPS SO 2026 vacancy at a glance

The updated Annexure I (vacancies as on 27.08.2026) lists 1,043 indicative vacancies for 2027-28 across the six Scale I posts. IBPS prints six post-wise tables without a grand total, so 1,043 is their sum. Recruitment depends on each bank’s business needs, so allotment is based on the vacancies banks actually report.

Total vacancies
1,043 (indicative, for 2027-28; as on 27 Aug 2026)
Post-wise
IT Officer 376 · Agricultural Field Officer 370 · Law Officer 125 · Rajbhasha Adhikari 102 · HR/Personnel Officer 60 · Marketing Officer 10
Banks
11 participating banks; 10 have vacancies in at least one post, Union Bank of India marked “Not Reported” for all six
Category-wise count
UR 445 · OBC 276 · SC 152 · EWS 96 · ST 74
How it changed
745 (notification, 1 Jul) → 1,035 (20 Jul update) → 1,043 (27 Aug update)
Previous cycle
1,007 in the CRP SPL-XV notification (2025)
Post & reservation

Post-wise & category-wise vacancies

Indicative vacancies for each post by category, from the updated Annexure I (as on 27.08.2026). You can apply for only one of these posts.

Post (Scale I)SCSTOBCEWSURTotal
IT Officer572910434152376
Agricultural Field Officer552710036152370
Law Officer167321159125
Rajbhasha Adhikari13724949102
HR/Personnel Officer831562860
Marketing Officer3110510
Total15274276964451,043

Within these, for persons with benchmark disabilities (PwBD): HI 9, OC 12, VI 9, ID 6 — IT Officer HI 4, OC 6, VI 3, ID 2; Agricultural Field Officer HI 4, OC 4, VI 4, ID 3; Law Officer OC 1, VI 2; HR/Personnel Officer HI 1, OC 1; Rajbhasha Adhikari ID 1; Marketing Officer none. Suitable disability categories differ by post (IBPS PwBD clarification notice, 12 Aug 2026). IBPS notes the figures may include backlog vacancies for some banks.

Where they sit

Bank-wise vacancies

Indian Bank has the largest share (290), followed by Bank of Baroda (167) and Punjab National Bank (135). Most banks are hiring for only some of the six posts, and Union Bank of India has not reported vacancies for any.

BankITAFOLawRajbhashaHRMarketingTotal
Bank of Baroda0100107500167
Bank of India110001000120
Bank of Maharashtra09000100100
Canara Bank0030200050
Central Bank of India500303100111
Indian Bank75180205010290
Indian Overseas Bank2501000035
Punjab National Bank1000251000135
Punjab & Sind Bank1600110027
UCO Bank0008008
Union Bank of IndiaNRNRNRNRNRNRNR
Total37637012510260101,043

NR = Not Reported; 0 = no vacancy listed for that post. AFO = Agricultural Field Officer; HR = HR/Personnel Officer. Source: updated Annexure I, CRP SPL-XVI (vacancies as on 27.08.2026) — the official PDF also splits each bank’s figure by category. The bank you join is decided at provisional allotment, on merit-cum-preference and actual vacancies.

See the pay scale & job profile
Year on year

Vacancy trend

Indicative IBPS SO vacancies for the last two cycles:

1,007
2025
1,043
2026

2025: CRP SPL-XV notification, vacancies of 2026-27 (indicative; sum of the post-wise totals). 2026: CRP SPL-XVI updated Annexure I as on 27.08.2026 (indicative); the notification of 1 Jul 2026 had listed 745 and the 20 Jul update 1,035. The post mix changed sharply — 2025 listed Marketing Officer 350 and HR/Personnel Officer 10; 2026 lists 10 and 60.

Ad
JobSafal Pro

Crack IBPS SO with your own daily plan

Daily targets for Reasoning, English, Quant & banking awareness — the general tests in the IBPS SO pattern.

7-day trial ₹1 then ₹299/month · cancel anytime
Start ₹1 trial →
1,043 seats

Make one of them yours

Six very different posts, but one common hurdle: English, Reasoning, and Quant or banking awareness must be cleared in both Prelims and Mains before your Professional Knowledge score counts. JobSafal turns those general tests into a daily plan you can actually follow.

📅

Daily plan

A daily target across Reasoning, English and Quantitative Aptitude — general tests you must clear in both Prelims and Mains.

🏦

Banking awareness

Daily targets on banking awareness — a full test for Law Officer and Rajbhasha Adhikari candidates, in place of Quant.

📰

Current affairs

Daily current affairs to keep you up to date on banking and economy news.

ℹ️

Not covered yet

JobSafal doesn’t have IBPS SO mock tests or PYQ sets yet, and the plan doesn’t cover post-specific Professional Knowledge.

FAQ

Vacancy questions, answered

1,043 indicative vacancies for 2027-28, as per the updated Annexure I (as on 27.08.2026) — the sum of its six post-wise tables. By category: UR 445, OBC 276, SC 152, EWS 96 and ST 74.
IT Officer, with 376, closely followed by Agricultural Field Officer (370). Then come Law Officer (125), Rajbhasha Adhikari (102), HR/Personnel Officer (60) and Marketing Officer (10).
Indian Bank, with 290 (AFO 180, IT 75, Law 20, Marketing 10, Rajbhasha 5). Next come Bank of Baroda (167), Punjab National Bank (135), Bank of India (120), Central Bank of India (111), Bank of Maharashtra (100), Canara Bank (50), Indian Overseas Bank (35), Punjab & Sind Bank (27) and UCO Bank (8).
Banks updated their indents. The notification of 1 July 2026 listed 745. A corrigendum with Annexure I as on 20.07.2026 raised it to 1,035, and a second update as on 27.08.2026 took it to 1,043 — only Rajbhasha Adhikari changed, from 94 to 102. Both corrigenda say all other terms of the notification remain unchanged.
No. IBPS calls them indicative and anticipated. Provisional allotment is made on the actual vacancies the banks report, and candidates cannot claim the indicative numbers as final. The figures may also include backlog vacancies for some banks.
NR means Not Reported. Union Bank of India is a participating bank but had not reported vacancies for any of the six posts in the updated Annexure I.
The previous cycle, CRP SPL-XV (2025, vacancies of 2026-27), listed 1,007 indicative vacancies in its notification: AFO 310, HR 10, IT 203, Law 56, Marketing 350 and Rajbhasha 78. The 2026 count is 1,043 after two updates.

Start today,
with a plan.

Download JobSafal — 7 days for ₹1. Your IBPS SO daily plan and today’s target are waiting.

Download the app ↓
QR code — scan to get the JobSafal app
Scan to downloadAndroid app on Google Play
Get JobSafal — 7 days for ₹1Your IBPS SO plan is waiting
Download →