Exam calendar
Current Affairs(opens currentaffairsdesk.com in a new tab)HomeFeaturesBlogsPricingAbout usFAQContact usSign inGet the app
Home/ Exams/ Banking/ IBPS PO/ Vacancy
IBPS PO 2026 · 6,715 POSTS

IBPS PO Vacancy 2026 · bank & category-wise

How many Probationary Officer / Management Trainee posts are on offer in CRP PO/MT-XVI, how they split by category and bank, and how the count compares with the previous cycle.

Year-wise trend ↓ Category split 📋 These are indicative vacancies for 2027-28 — allotment follows the actual vacancies banks report.
Overview

IBPS PO 2026 vacancy at a glance

Annexure I of the IBPS PO 2026 notification lists 6,715 indicative vacancies for 2027-28 across the participating public sector banks. IBPS says recruitment depends on each bank’s business needs, so final allotment is based on the vacancies banks actually report.

Total vacancies
6,715 (indicative, for 2027-28)
Post
Probationary Officer / Management Trainee
Banks
11 participating banks; 8 reported vacancies, 3 marked “Not Reported”
Category-wise count
UR 2,719 · OBC 1,816 · SC 1,009 · EWS 669 · ST 502
Previous cycle
5,208 in CRP PO/MT-XV (2025)
Reservation

Category-wise vacancies

Category-wise indicative vacancies for IBPS PO 2026, from Annexure I of the notification:

CategoryVacancies
Unreserved (UR)2,719
OBC1,816
SC1,009
EWS669
ST502
Total6,715

Within these, for persons with benchmark disabilities (PwBD): HI 73, OC 70, VI 67, ID 77. IBPS notes the figures may include backlog vacancies for some banks.

Where they sit

Bank-wise vacancies

Bank of Baroda has the largest share, followed by Canara Bank and Bank of Maharashtra. Indian Bank, UCO Bank and Union Bank of India have not reported vacancies.

BankSCSTOBCEWSURTotal
Bank of Baroda2851425131907701,900
Bank of India753713550203500
Bank of Maharashtra165822971104461,100
Canara Bank2251124051506081,500
Central Bank of India753713550203500
Indian BankNRNRNRNRNRNR
Indian Overseas Bank844114854223550
Punjab National Bank763813650204504
Punjab & Sind Bank2413471562161
UCO BankNRNRNRNRNRNR
Union Bank of IndiaNRNRNRNRNRNR
Total1,0095021,8166692,7196,715

NR = Not Reported. Source: Annexure I, CRP PO/MT-XVI notification. The bank you join is decided at provisional allotment, on merit-cum-preference and actual vacancies.

See the pay scale & job profile
Year on year

Vacancy trend

Indicative vacancies in the IBPS PO notification for the last two cycles:

5,208
2025
6,715
2026

2025: CRP PO/MT-XV notification, vacancies of 2026-27 (indicative). 2026: CRP PO/MT-XVI notification, vacancies of 2027-28 (indicative).

Ad
JobSafal Pro

Crack IBPS PO with your own daily plan

Daily targets, PYQ practice sets & timed mocks — built around the IBPS PO pattern.

7-day trial ₹1 then ₹299/month · cancel anytime
Start ₹1 trial →
6,715 seats

Make one of them yours

A few thousand posts, a very large applicant pool — the seat goes to whoever prepares most consistently. JobSafal turns that into a daily plan you can actually follow.

🎯

Daily plan

A daily target across Reasoning, Quant & DI, English and Banking Awareness.

⏱️

Timed mocks

Practise the Prelims format: 100 questions in 60 minutes, 20 minutes per section.

📝

PYQ practice sets

Previous-year IBPS PO questions, solved, to focus your prep.

📊

Weak-area report

See which section is pulling your score down after each test.

FAQ

Vacancy questions, answered

The CRP PO/MT-XVI notification lists 6,715 indicative vacancies for 2027-28: UR 2,719, OBC 1,816, SC 1,009, EWS 669 and ST 502.
Bank of Baroda, with 1,900. Next come Canara Bank (1,500), Bank of Maharashtra (1,100), Indian Overseas Bank (550), Punjab National Bank (504), Bank of India (500), Central Bank of India (500) and Punjab & Sind Bank (161).
No. IBPS calls them indicative. Provisional allotment is made on the actual vacancies the banks report, and candidates cannot claim the indicative numbers as final. The figures may also include backlog vacancies for some banks.
NR means Not Reported. Indian Bank, UCO Bank and Union Bank of India are participating banks but had not reported PO vacancies when the notification was issued.
The previous cycle, CRP PO/MT-XV (2025, vacancies of 2026-27), listed 5,208 indicative vacancies. The 2026 notification lists 6,715.

Start today,
with a plan.

Download JobSafal — 7 days for ₹1. Your first IBPS PO mock test and today’s daily target are waiting.

Download the app ↓
QR code — scan to get the JobSafal app
Scan to downloadAndroid app on Google Play
Get JobSafal — 7 days for ₹1Your IBPS PO plan is waiting
Download →