Exam calendar
Current Affairs(opens currentaffairsdesk.com in a new tab)HomeFeaturesBlogsPricingAbout usFAQContact usSign inGet the app
Home/ Exams/ Banking/ IBPS RRB PO/ Salary & Job Profile
IBPS RRB PO 2026 · OFFICER SCALE-I (ASSISTANT MANAGER)

IBPS RRB PO Salary 2026 · pay & job profile

The CRP RRBs-XV notification doesn’t print a pay scale for Officer Scale-I. Here’s what it does say: what the post is, where you could be allotted, the terms of appointment, and what the job involves.

Plan your IBPS RRB PO prep — start for ₹1 What the notification says about pay ↓ 💰 No pay figure appears in the official documents for this recruitment. Pay and allowances follow the rules of the RRB you join, so we don’t quote numbers here.
Overview

IBPS RRB PO salary at a glance

IBPS RRB PO is the Officer Scale-I (Assistant Manager) post, a Group “A” officer post in a Regional Rural Bank. The notification for CRP RRBs-XV covers the exam, interview and provisional allotment, but it doesn’t state the pay. The RRB that allots you issues the offer of appointment and sets its terms.

Post
Officer Scale-I (Assistant Manager) · Group “A”
Pay scale
Not stated in the CRP RRBs-XV notification
Pay & allowances
As per the rules of the RRB you join
Employer
An RRB in the state / UT you applied for (28 RRBs take part)
Indicative vacancies
4,256 Officer Scale-I posts (sum of the bank-wise table, updated 25.09.2026)
Posting
Allotted candidates may be posted anywhere
In-hand pay
Not published by IBPS — it depends on the RRB’s pay and allowances
Official documents

What the notification says about pay

We checked the detailed notification (01.09.2026), the extension corrigendum (21.09.2026), the edit-window notice (06.10.2026) and the updated vacancy annexure (25.09.2026). None of them gives a pay scale, a starting basic or a list of allowances for Officer Scale-I. This is what they do set out:

ItemIn the notificationWhat it means for you
Pay scaleNot givenCheck the offer of appointment from your allotted RRB
AllowancesNot listedFollow the rules of the RRB you join
Offer & termsSolely the RRB’s decision (clause K)IBPS has no role; direct queries to the RRB
Service rulesService and conduct rules of the RRB (clause N)They apply once you join

Source: CRP RRBs-XV notification, clauses K and N. Because IBPS doesn’t publish a pay figure for this recruitment, any salary number you see elsewhere isn’t from these official documents.

How many posts

Officer Scale-I posts, by category

The updated Annexure I lists indicative Officer Scale-I vacancies bank by bank across 28 RRBs. Added up, they come to 4,256. PwBD vacancies sit within these figures.

1,752
General
1,139
OBC
627
SC
420
EWS
318
ST

Source: Annexure I updated 25.09.2026. IBPS doesn’t print a national total, so 4,256 is the sum of the bank-wise table. These vacancies are indicative, and allotment is made on the actual vacancies the RRBs report. The 2025 cycle (CRP RRBs-XIV) listed 3,928 Officer Scale-I vacancies.

One post, 28 RRBs

Where you could work

CRP RRBs-XV recruits for 28 Regional Rural Banks, one for each participating state or UT, from Andhra Pradesh Grameena Bank to West Bengal Gramin Bank. For Officer Scale-I you apply for one state’s vacancies.

Allotment within your state

For Officer Scale-I, provisional allotment is restricted to the RRBs of the state you opted for, based on merit and the actual vacancies reported.

Local language

Proficiency in the local language is essential. If you studied it in Class VIII or above, you count as proficient; otherwise you get six months from joining to acquire it, which the RRB’s board can extend within the probation period.

Allotment is final

Once you’re provisionally allotted, no request for a change is entertained, and asking for one can lead to cancellation of your candidature.

The RRB makes the offer

The allotted RRB issues the offer of appointment, sets its terms and handles verification and joining. Appointment also depends on being declared medically fit.

The actual job

What an Officer Scale-I does

An Officer Scale-I (Assistant Manager) starts in the officer cadre of a Regional Rural Bank. Duties vary by RRB and branch. These are the usual areas of work — tap one to expand.

Handling customer accounts, deposits and service requests at a branch, solving customers’ problems and supervising the day-to-day work at the counters.
Processing and checking loan applications, helping assess whether borrowers can repay, and following up on repayments. The notification gives preference to graduates in fields such as agriculture, horticulture, animal husbandry, agricultural marketing, management, economics and accountancy.
Making sure transactions, records and reports follow the bank’s procedures and rules, including customer-verification requirements and internal checks.
RRBs serve customers in their own state, which is why proficiency in the local language is an essential qualification for Officer Scale-I. A working knowledge of computers is listed as desirable.
You join on probation and learn the bank’s work across different functions. The probation and training terms are set by the RRB you join.
The notification says provisionally allotted candidates, subject to fulfilling all the criteria, may be posted anywhere.
Before you join

Pay, allowances & terms

The notification doesn’t list pay, allowances or their rates. These are the conditions it does set out:

+
Pay & allowancesAs per the RRB’s rules — not stated by IBPS
✓
Offer of appointmentIssued by the allotted RRB
✓
Medical fitnessRequired before appointment
✓
Service & conduct rulesThose of the RRB you join
✓
Local languageClass VIII or above, or acquire it after joining
✓
Document checkEligibility verified by the allotted RRB
Long term

Career growth

Officer Scale-I is the entry point into an RRB’s officer cadre. The same recruitment also fills Officer Scale-II (Manager) and Scale-III (Senior Manager) posts directly, through a single exam with its own eligibility. Promotions after you join depend on the RRB’s own policy, not on the IBPS notification, so check the details with the RRB you’re allotted to.

Check the eligibility for this post
Ad
JobSafal Pro

Crack IBPS RRB PO with your own daily plan

Daily targets, PYQ practice sets & timed mocks — built around the IBPS RRB PO pattern.

7-day trial ₹1 then ₹299/month · cancel anytime
Start ₹1 trial →
Aim for allotment

Get into the merit list

Allotment goes on merit, and merit comes from your Mains (80%) and interview (20%) scores. The prelims only gets you to the Mains. JobSafal builds a daily plan for both exams and shows you, mock by mock, where you stand.

🎯

Daily plan

Daily targets across Reasoning, Quant, General Awareness, Computer Knowledge and your language test.

📈

Mock analysis

See which test is holding back your score after every mock.

⏱️

Timed mocks

Practise under separately timed tests, as in the real IBPS RRB PO exam.

📝

PYQ practice sets

Practise previous-year-style questions so your prep matches what IBPS RRB PO asks.

FAQ

Salary questions, answered

The CRP RRBs-XV notification doesn’t state a pay scale for Officer Scale-I. Pay and allowances follow the rules of the RRB you’re allotted to, and that RRB sets the terms in its offer of appointment.
IBPS doesn’t publish an in-hand figure. Take-home pay depends on the pay, allowances and deductions of the RRB you join, so check the exact figure with that RRB.
The notification doesn’t say. It leaves the offer of appointment, its terms and joining formalities entirely to the allotted RRB, and appointment is subject to that RRB’s service and conduct rules.
You apply for one state’s vacancies, and Officer Scale-I allotment is restricted to the RRBs of that state, based on merit and the actual vacancies reported. Once allotment is made, it’s final, and asking for a change can lead to your candidature being cancelled.
The notification says provisionally allotted candidates, subject to fulfilling all the criteria, may be posted anywhere.
The notification gives February/March 2027 (tentative) for provisional allotment, after the interviews in January/February 2027. Provisional allotment isn’t an offer of employment. The RRB issues the offer, sets its terms and handles joining.

Start today,
with a plan.

Download JobSafal — 7 days for ₹1. Your first IBPS RRB PO mock test and today’s daily target are waiting.

Download the app ↓
QR code — scan to get the JobSafal app
Scan to downloadAndroid app on Google Play
Get JobSafal — 7 days for ₹1Your IBPS RRB PO plan is waiting
Download →